Bug? Save_As IGS does not make a new Images folder

Feature requests, bug reports and related discussion
9 posts • Page 1 of 1
justaviking

Bug? Save_As IGS does not make a new Images folder

Post by justaviking » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:11 pm

Greetings,

This is my first-ever post, and I'm quite new to Indigo. I am an iClone user and its brand new Indigo plug-in is what brought me to the Indigo world.

If this has already been posted, a) please forgive me, and b) please educate me about it.

I THINK THIS IS A BUG...

The IGS format includes an IGS file and two folders, one for meshes and one for images.

If I open an IGS in Indigo, and do a Save As to a new location, I get:
- A new IGS file (correctly named) in the new location
- A new copy of the mesh folder in the new location, named to match the IGS file

But:
- I do NOT get a new copy of the image folder in the new location
- It is "reusing" the old image folder

The new IGS file actually points to the new mesh folder and the old image folder. I opened it in Notepad and that's how I figured out what was going wrong.

The new "saved as" IGS file will open, but here are the problems...

PROBLEM SCENARIO 1:
- Supposed one of my jpeg files was for a sign, and I edit the image to change the words
- Now BOTH scenes will reflect the change, not just one

PROBLEM SCENARIO 2: THIS IS POTENTIALLY BIG FOR SOME PEOPLE
- The iClone plug-in to Indigo can "export + launch Indigo to start rendering" with one button
- It writes to the scene to the same "temp" directory every time you use that button
- If I try to save my scene, I do a Save As, and I assume it's safe
- But my newly saved file is still using the jpeg image files in the temp directory
- The next time I do an "Indigo Render" from iClone, it overwrites the images
- So the next day I try to open the file I saved, but it's bad because my images are gone