Polycarbonat

General discussion about Indigo Materials - material requests, material developement, feedback, etc..
lexington

Polycarbonat

Post by lexington » Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:49 pm

I'm new to Indigo (using Indingo with SU).

I'v yet to understand how to create materials… I think in the mean time i've better with using pre-made materials but i haven't found what i search for. I'm searching Polycarbonat material to use in an architectural context.

I'va attached an example. It's that kind of milky PC (polycarbonat) or semi-transparent white plastic if you prefer i'm searching for. I thought it would deb pretty easy to find for or even to create but it seems very difficult for a newly even with watching the videos i found. Any tips or links to material that could render similar ?
Attachments
a4792126b8c81f6a653872e8ec33abb0.jpg
exemple

Headroom
Indigo 100

Re: Polycarbonat

Post by Headroom » Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:29 pm

A diffuse transmitter material should work or at least should get you started.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
iMac 2.93 GHz Quad Core i7. 12 GB memory
ATI Radeon HD 5750M 1024 MB
OS X 10.10.3 Yosemite
Blender 2.72, Blendigo 3.8.25, Indigo 3.8.26

Trippy Lighting LLC - Colorful LED lighting systems
High Power RGB LED driver - Blog

Pibuz
1st Place 100
3D Software: SketchUp

Post by Pibuz » Wed Sep 23, 2015 10:01 pm

Hi Lexington! Architect here :D
The material you're referring is NOT polycarbonate, but U-glass (sort of an industrial prefabricated glass, with a L or U section extruded). The frosty look you see comes from the surface treatment, there are many but the most common are little vertical lines, and superficial frosting or speckle.

To represent the polycarbonate material you basically have to MODEL it: each panel is sort of a series of long vertical cells, so the vibrance of the final architectural effect derives from the light being fragmented by the cells.
Attachments
reference.jpg

Oscar J
1st Place Winner
3D Software: Blender