Double sided thin with opaque textures

General discussion about Indigo Materials - material requests, material developement, feedback, etc..
3 posts • Page 1 of 1
Yiqin

Double sided thin with opaque textures

Post by Yiqin » Sun Nov 10, 2013 6:34 pm

First off I am a beginner
I have models for work that are fairly high geometry to keep it manageable in sketchup (and exportable to 3d pdfs) I use a single surface to represent 0.021-0.031 formed copper. In real life these copper surfaces are bare (left to naturally oxidize) on the outer/convex surface and receive a (artificial) turquoise/blue patina on the inside/concave surface. The attached picture shows two different sizes of the same model with the nice ornate copper texture.

Is there anyway to achieve this with the double sided thin? Or other workable solutions I would rather not need to build more than one set of product models?

Everything I've read on the double sided thin is deals with translucent or transparent. I'm not even sure if in my attempts I'm even setting up the material options.

I am working with some basic photo based textures for both (I plan to improve them and try some uv mapping plugins or project the textures). I was using RT under trial a few weeks ago but I am now using Indigo Render 3.4.19 with Sketchup 2013 Pro skindigo version is whatever was current a week ago but I will get to the latest update asap.
Appreciate the help!
Attachments
1.jpg
Example of models I'm working with

CTZn

Re: Double sided thin with opaque textures

Post by CTZn » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:22 am

You can try to set the r_f parameter to 1.0 then play with the front and back settings but this is not the purpose of the Double Sided Thin material.

You would better pull out the shapes for some depth and use SU ways to assign them different materials back and forth.
obsolete asset

Yiqin

Re: Double sided thin with opaque textures

Post by Yiqin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:50 am