Procedural perforated aluminum...out of my hands

General discussion about Indigo Materials - material requests, material developement, feedback, etc..
14 posts • Page 1 of 1
Pandekage

Procedural perforated aluminum...out of my hands

Post by Pandekage » Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:11 pm

Perhaps it isn't the best idea to choose a crazy skin for our studio project...I need to create this material:

http://www.archdaily.com/132945/town-hall-hotel-rare/

It's sandblasted aluminum with laser-etched patterns.

But I have no idea how to do it. I've attempted regular bumpmaps, which seem to work, but I have no coding experience and cannot figure how to do this procedural pattern. Any hints or steps? And if anyone is feeling generous, a complete material would be very much appreciated for something to show while I learn this.

Zom-B
1st Place 100

Re: Procedural perforated aluminum...out of my hands

Post by Zom-B » Tue Feb 12, 2013 7:29 pm

Pandekage wrote:... but I have no coding experience and cannot figure how to do this procedural pattern. Any hints or steps?
No coding needed!
OpenPhotoshop or gimp or even better your favorite vector tool and draw some of your fancy patterns, the more and bigger that map gets, the better.
Now use this map to blend your sandblaster material with a NulllMaterial for alpha output and you end up with holes in the material.

If you wanna get even more fancy and give that holes some depth you need to use your pattern map as a displacement map too, but it needs to have a little wider pattern, by giving them a small outline, since otherwise you simply set the new displaced depth to alpha :)

have fun!
polygonmanufaktur.de

Pandekage

Post by Pandekage » Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:03 pm